

INTERNATIONAL TABLE TENNIS COMMITTEE FOR DISABLED A Standing Committee of the International Paralympic Committee

TABLE TENNIS ASSEMBLY

AGENDA

A meeting of the Table Tennis assembly will be held on 19 August 2002 from 16h00 to 21h00 on the third floor of the Competition Hall, Taipei.

MEMBERS: all nations and IOSDs widely practising table tennis

Africa-Middle East: Egypt, Guinea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Nigeria, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Syria

Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, United States of America, Venezuela

Europe: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

FESPIC: Australia, Bangladesh, China, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam

Please note: the nations widely practising table tennis have to be in good standing with the IPC in order to participate in this meeting.

OBSERVERS: the following nations have been granted an observer status at the table tennis assembly: Algeria, Cambodia, Guatemala, Lao, Luxembourg, Nauru, Romania, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu. These nations have practiced table tennis in the past but are not included in the current table tennis ranking list and have not participated in a table tennis tournament approved by the table tennis SAEC within the last 30 months.

SPORTS ASSEMBLY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Elected: Christian Lillieroos (Chairperson), Vincent Boury (Athletes' Representative, Development Officer), Jiri Danek (Tournament Officer, Europe), Øivind Eriksen (Vice-Chairperson), Hong-Jae Lee (FESPIC), Leandro Olvech (Americas), Nico Verspeelt (Selection Officer)

Co-opted: Alison Burchell (Secretary General), Dr Aart Kruimer (Medical Officer), Raúl Calín (Technical Officer)

WELCOME, REGISTER AND APOLOGIES

1. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES: of the Assembly held on 23 October 2000 in Sydney, Australia (see attachment A).

- 2. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA: the Assembly is asked to approve the proposed agenda with or without amendments.
- **3. ITTC REPORT:** the Chairperson of the SAEC, Mr. Christian Lillieroos, is asked to give a report from the ITTC for the information of the Assembly (see attachment B).
- **4. MOTIONS:** the Assembly is asked to consider and approve the motions circulated with this agenda from the SAEC (see attachment C) and those submitted and circulated from member nations.
- **5. FUTURE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS BIDS:** the Assembly is asked to note the procedure to be followed when submitting a bid to host the world championships 2006.
- 6. ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE SAEC 2002 2006: in order to ensure continuity, the Assembly elected some officials in Sydney during the Paralympic Games and some others will be elected in Taipei during the world championships for the period 2002 to 2006. Specifically, the following were elected in Sydney to serve until the next Paralympic Games in 2004:

Chairperson	Christian Lillieroos
Athletes' representative	Vincent Boury
Members at large	Øivind Eriksen, Jiri Danek, Silas Chiang, Nico Verspeelt

The SAEC allocated the following portfolios to the members at large:

Vice-Chairperson	Øivind Eriksen
Tournament Officer (he has also been elected the representative for Europe)	Jiri Danek
Treasurer	Silas Chiang
Selection Officer	Nico Verspeelt

In addition, the SAEC co-opted the following persons to serve as:

Technical Officer	Raúl Calín
Medical Officer	Aart Kruimer
Secretary General	Alison Burchell

The SAEC has called for nominations, through the IPC Headquarters, and will circulate the nominations received prior to this Assembly for the positions of:

Vice-Chairperson Selection Officer Medical Officer Technical Officer

The Assembly is asked to note that the voting procedures will be as follows:

i) the voting be conducted by secret ballot on forms supplied by the Secretary General;

- ii) the Assembly will appoint independent scrutineers to count the votes independent meaning not being a candidate;
- iii) the nominee polling the highest number of votes will be declared elected;
- iv) should there be an equality of votes, there will be a re-vote for the relevant two nominees to break the tie;
- v) the result will be declared (without revealing the number of votes polled by each candidate) by the chairperson;
- vi) once the election results have been declared, the Assembly will give permission for the ballots to be destroyed.

The Assembly is also asked to note the election of the regional representatives to serve from 2001 to 2005 as follows:

Americas	Leandro Olvech
Europe	Jiri Danek
FESPIC	Hong-Jae Lee

The Assembly is also asked to note that the representative for the African-Middle East region will be elected during the World Championships.

7. OTHER BUSINESS

Al. A Smhill

ALISON BURCHELL Secretary General

ENQUIRIES: should you have any questions about the above, please feel free to contact either of the following:

Christian Lillieroos Chairperson ipclillieroos@yahoo.de +1 405 531 4208 (fax) Alison Burchell Secretary General <u>burchell@mweb.co.za</u> +27 11 616 4176 (fax)